Food

The Most Delicious Grilled Cheese

gc3

Whew, this week has been pretty rough both emotionally and mentally, but it’s almost over, even though it looks like I’ll be working all the way through Father’s Day weekend. Even when it’s been a tiring week, there’s nothing that I enjoy more for a quick meal than a delicious grilled cheese sandwich.

Grilled cheese seems to be one of those childhood staple foods, although I must confess that growing up I was maybe a little bit- okay okay, a lot– of a picky eater, and grilled cheese was never one of those foods I was too crazy about. I can distinctly remember eating one in a small diner-ish restaurant while visiting my grandparents, but that was it. Fast forward to last month when my husband had a small surgery, and all he wanted to eat was tomato soup and grilled cheese.

gc1

Of course, being the amazing and wonderful wife that I am, I slapped together some cheese singles and bread for his canned soup, and that was that. Then again, I thought to myself, I can do better than that! So I played around with some ingredients- though nothing that would take too long of course- and got this absolutely scrumptious combo that I now eat probably at least once a week because it’s so good, and takes maybe 10 minutes to make. Not to mention this is simple enough for any kids (or spouses) to do!

gc14

The ingredients are super simple and basic, you probably won’t have to go to the store for any of them. You can also change up and cheeses or spices you’d like, make your favorite combo! What you’ll need for this recipe is:

  • Bread. I’m just using some Nature’s Own Butterbread, which my husband likes
  • Butter. I only use unsalted butter, but if you prefer salted or even margarine that’s okay too
  • Spices. Oregano and Garlic Powder is what I like to use, it’s really good but not too strong for a grilled cheese
  • Cheese. I use two slices of Mozzarella cheese and a sprinkling of shredded Sharp Cheddar
  • Pepperoni. This makes it kind of like those pizza grilled cheese, but without the tomato sauce. You can substitute this for any other add-ins, like maybe grilled peppers or sauteed onions

See? Only five ingredients! And they’re super simple! You can use any kind of fancy cheese or bread, but what I love about this is that even simple store-brand ingredients make this meal so tasty. So let’s get started!

gc12

gc11

The first thing we’re going to do is prepare the bread. What I do is get about a tablespoon of butter- you wanted enough to get a good layer on each slice- and put it in a small bowl and pop it in the microwave to soften it. You don’t want it melted or anything, just soft enough to spread easily. Next, add in a bit of the oregano and garlic powder, and mix it together.gc10

gc9

Next step is to butter the outsides of the bread, the sides that are going to get that delicious golden-brown crunchy outside.

gc7

gc6

When I first started making these, I’d put the bread butter-side-down on the plate, and then when I went to put it onto the pan the butter would stick to plate, along with most of the bread! To fix this, I buttered the inside of the top piece, which when moved to the pan would become the bottom. Voila! No more stuck butter!gc5

Next we stack on the best part- the inside! For my grilled cheese, I put down the layers as mozzarella > pepperoni > shredded sharp cheddar > then another slice of mozzarella.

gc4

Mmmm…. doesn’t that just look divine?

Next, move the slice of bread with the toppings onto the pan. I like to heat mine up will putting on the toppings, and I turn it up to somewhere between low and medium for my stove top. I want it to cook quickly and get that nice toasty golden color, but if the stove eye is turned on too high it could burn.

Then you just butter the other slice of bread and put it on top and cook it like a normal grilled cheese! Medium heat, cook until toasted on one side, then flip, repeat, and enjoy!

gc2

I enjoyed this particular sandwich with some of my iced green tea, and it was absolutely delicious. I love the crunchy, toasted outside of the bread, and the warm, gooey cheese on the inside. Aaahhh, so good!

Also one last tip! Do not squish the bread flat while cooking! I know it may help make it a little easier to flip in the pan, but you’ll end up with a squished-thin sandwich, and it’s not fun at all. I learned that lesson after asking my husband to make me a grilled cheese; what I got was a paper-thin sandwich with hardly any cheese. Sigh. If you want some things done right I guess….

Ahem, anyway. That’s all for today! I hope you all have a fun weekend, until next time!

gctitle

 

One thought on “The Most Delicious Grilled Cheese

Leave a Reply

